

South Dakota Secretary of State

Monae L. Johnson Secretary of State **Thomas J. Deadrick** Deputy Secretary of State

For Immediate Release: December 18, 2024 Contact: SOS.Media@state.sd.us

SECRETARY OF STATE OVERSEES ELECTORAL VOTE FOR 2024 PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION

(**Pierre, S.D.**) – Secretary of State Monae L. Johnson oversaw the meeting of the Electors for the President and Vice President as they gathered in the State Capitol Tuesday, December 17th at 12:00pm to cast South Dakota's three votes in the Electoral College, as required by SDCL § 12-24-4.

The Electors for the President and Vice President were elected by the people of South Dakota at the General Election on November 5th, 2024. The Electors for Donald J. Trump and J.D. Vance (R) received 272,081 votes, the Electors for Kamala D. Harris and Tim Walz (D) received 146,859 votes, the Electors for Robert F. Kennedy Jr. and Nicole Shanahan (I) received 7,204 votes, and the Electors for Chase Oliver and Mike ter Maat (L) received 2,778 votes.

At their convention in June, the South Dakota Republican Party nominated the following people to serve as Electors for the President and Vice President on behalf of its presidential nominee: Governor Kristi Noem, Lieutenant Governor Larry Rhoden, and Attorney General Marty Jackley. Pursuant to SDCL §§ <u>12-24-2</u> and <u>12-</u><u>24-3</u>, Ryan Brunner was selected to be an Elector as a substitute for Governor Noem.

At the meeting yesterday, the Electors for the President and Vice President cast three votes for Donald J. Trump to be the next President of the United States and three votes for J.D. Vance to be the next Vice President of the United States. The votes have been sent to Washington D.C., where they will then be counted by Congress on January 6th, 2025.

"First, I would like to congratulate President Trump and J.D. Vance for their resounding victory on November 5th both in South Dakota and the United States as a whole," said Secretary Johnson. "It has been an honor to oversee this whole process, from our flawless General Election to this meeting of our Electors. Voting is a privilege that we take very seriously here in South Dakota, and my office has worked tirelessly to ensure that the people's will is heard and respected."

Complete results for the General Election on November 5th, 2024 and certificates related to the meeting of the Electors for the President and Vice President can be found on the Secretary of State's website: https://sdsos.gov/elections-voting/upcoming-elections/general-information/default.aspx.



South Dakota Secretary of State

Monae L. Johnson Secretary of State **Thomas J. Deadrick** Deputy Secretary of State



From left to right: Chief Election Officer: Secretary of State Monae L. Johnson; Electors casting their votes for President and Vice President: Lieutenant Governor Larry Rhoden, Attorney General Marty Jackley, and Ryan Brunner.